top of page
Search

PLAYING WITH KIDS: A MASTER CLASS ON BUILDING TENSION & INCREASING THE STAKES

Updated: Jun 28, 2023

When I first started writing, one thing I used to worry about was, “Is this too silly?”


I would downplay my stakes and lower tension, so my book felt more grounded. HOGWASH!


Funny books are funny, in part, because they are ridiculous! The stakes are high and each scene builds tension to make the reader wonder what silly, off-the-wall antics will happen next. Every action/choice has a consequence that leads to the next bigger, sometimes worse, consequence.


Like my beloved Ms. Frizzle says you must “Take chances, make mistakes, GET MESSY!”





Now, whenever I edit a book, I wave my red pen above my head and scream (in my head) "RAISE THE STAKES" like a power hungry queen.


Watching my kids play doctor today made me sit back and take notes about increasing tension and upping the stakes in my own work. They are often a source of inspiration for my stories. But without them knowing, today their role playing gave me a master class. (Thanks kids, I'll dedicate my first book to you.)


This was the scenario.


MC: Big Bear

Setting: Hospital, somewhere in South America.

Scenario: Big Bear came to the hospital with a tummy ache.


Inciting incident: Initial triage showed the patient had been around a known part of the woods where poisonous berries grow. Bear promises he didn’t eat the berries, but admits he did eat...a scorpion! (upped tension 1)


THEN Big Bear takes a turn for the worse. His fever spikes and isn’t doing well. (upped tension 2)


Big Bear admits he not only ate a scorpion but also a HIKER (plot twist!) who ate the poisonous berries (upped tension 3)


Big Bear is going to die. (upping the stakes).



Thankfully no real bears were used in this scenario. Big Bear received anti-venom and a transfusion that saved his life. He is recovering comfortably in my bed. (Hopefully, he gets discharged before bedtime).


But their stakes were amazing, they created a loveable character we all cared for Big Bear. The tension was just right to keep the situation interesting and both kids engaged at solving the problem. Which is what our picture books should do.


Now, lets look at some IRL books that do an amazing job (in my opinion) at increasing tension and raising the stakes to keep the reader engaged and encourage those sought after page turns.


INVENT-A-PET written by Vicky Fang and illustrated by Tidawan Thaipinnarong (2020)


In this book, an ordinary girl, Katie, wants an extraordinary pet. Her mom gifts her a mysterious machine to create her perfect pet, but things don’t exactly go Katie’s way. Mistake after mistake leads Katie to have a house full of flying, swinging, and buzzing extraordinary pets that destroy her house—literally. She has to pause problem solving her key problem to fix the colossal disaster she created.

Tidawan´s art works perfectly with Vicky´s words to build tension and show how the stakes rise as with each page turn.


Hornswoggled!: A Wacky Words Whodunit written by Josh Crute and illustrated by Jenn Harney (2021)



Filled with funny words that will help expand your vocabulary, this book builds tension on every page. Deer wakes up to find someone hornswoggled its antler! The deer seeks help from their friends in the forest, only to discover he's not the only victim. With a double twist ending, this book does a great job of adding humor with increasing the stakes (even the mayor is a victim!) and building tension to the very end.


MY PET FEET written by Josh Funk and illustrated by Billy Yong (2022)



Chaos breaks loose in this book when the MC realizes the letter "R" is missing. Go Cats, galloping hoses, and piles of doo keep the reader giggling and guessing about what else is going to happen next and how the mystery will be solved. This book is gold.


Also! Here is a great, 3-part article by Natascha Biebow about adding stakes and tension to your picture book:


PICTURE BOOK FOCUS Raising the Stakes


I could go on, but I would love to know what are some humorous books you love that show the craft of building tension and upping the stakes?




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page